Two non-fiction OBOB reviews

Published August 7, 2015 by neverwearmatchingsox

So these titles are both on the 2015-16 OBOB list for the 3-5th graders.  I always feel that non-fiction is hard to review and these are no different.

In What Was the March on Washington by Kathleen Krull  there were things I learned and things that truly shocked me, but that is maybe the point of historical non-fiction…to get you to feel something. I applaud Kathleen Krull for tackling such emotional and intense subjects. I will encourage kids to read this even after OBOB is finished.

15812787

In What Was Ellis Island by Patricia Brennan Demuth,kids will be exposed to another historical time…a time when people fled to the United States in search of a better life….something I can’t imagine.  It serves as a reminder for me that our ancestors worked hard for their families.

18114167

Leave a Reply

