Picture Books Picture Books Picture Books

Published March 14, 2014 by neverwearmatchingsox

First on the list today is If I Built a Car by Chris Van Dusen.  This story is so fantastically illustrated, it made me want to watch The Jetsons right away (Jetsons was my favorite cartoon as a kid)…..I am excited to use this at storytime.

If I Built a Car

Here Comes the Easter Cat by Deborah Underwood…a delightful story about a grumpy cat who is jealous of the Easter Bunny.  The cat communicates through his sign and at one point even bites the head off of a chocolate bunny.  In the end, kindness prevails and he and the bunny are friends.

18349512

Ball by Mary Sullivan….a picture book that is almost a graphic novel..told through panels on the page, this is a fun book with nice illustrations.  I thought of my puppy, Tipper, when I read this.

Ball

Randy Riley’s Really Big Hit by Chris Van Dusen (oh, hmmmm…didn’t realize I just read 2 of his books:-)

I read this to the kids at school.  I picked it out because 1) it rhymes and 2) it looks like spring in the story.   But when I asked the kids why they thought I picked it, they thought it was because it was a story about never giving up…hmmmm outta the mouths of babes.  A fun rhyming story that has something for everyone….humor, baseball and robots.

Randy Riley's Really Big Hit

 

Leave a Reply

