Dear Mr. Henshaw by Beverly Cleary

Published October 9, 2013 by neverwearmatchingsox

I will be the first to admit that I do not remember if I read Beverly Cleary when I was younger. Reading was not my “thing” but now it is…This is an Oregon Battle of the Books title (OBOB) so I decided to read it since we will be having mock battles at school. It is written in the form of a diary and letters by Leigh. He is a new student in his 6th grade class, his parents are divorced and someone keeps stealing the good things from his lunch. He is befriended by the custodian and a boy named Barry. He misses his father and his dog, which his dad got in the divorce, and he writes letters to his favorite author Mr. Henshaw.
What kept me reading was the fact that it was written as letters and journal entries. I think it would have been difficult for this story to exist otherwise. The sequel is Strider which is also written as a journal.

Dear Mr. Henshaw (Leigh Botts, #1)

Leave a Reply

