Here I Am

Published September 20, 2013 by neverwearmatchingsox

Here I AmA boy moves from his homeland to a busy city in America.  Told entirely through pictures, we journey with this boy as he tries to learn about his new home.  At first everything is strange and he longs for home.  As he spends more time in his new city, he discovers sights, sounds and tastes that make him happy.  He enjoys the outdoors and even begins to make friends.  I love wordless picture books because they allow children, and adults, to make up the story as they go along.  I have kids tell me all the time, “but I don’t know know how to read” and I tell them that they don’t need to know…just make up a story to go along with the pictures.  There were parts of this book that reminded me of my childhood and it left me with a happy feeling.  The illustrations were beautiful.

Leave a Reply

